MiamiCatholic Calendars

Easter related Holidays for the year 2020

The date of Easter Day was defined by the Council of Nicaea in AD325 as the Sunday after the first full moon which falls on or after the Spring Equinox. The Equinox is assumed to always fall on 21st March, so the calculation reduces to determining the date of the full moon and the date of the following Sunday. The algorithm used here was introduced around the year 532 by Dionysius Exiguus. Under the Julian Calendar (for years before 1753) a simple 19-year cycle is used to track the phases of the Moon. Under the Gregorian Calendar (for years after 1753 - devised by Clavius and Lilius, and introduced by Pope Gregory XIII in October 1582, and into Britain and its then colonies in September 1752) two correction factors are added to make the cycle more accurate.

Easter Sunday     Sun April 12 2020
Septuagesima     Sun February 09 2020
Sexagesima     Sun February 16 2020
Quinquagesima     Sun February 23 2020
Shrove Tuesday (Mardi Gras)     Tue February 25 2020
Ash Wednesday     Wed February 26 2020
Palm Sunday     Sun April 05 2020
Good Friday     Fri April 10 2020
Rogation Sunday     Sun May 17 2020
Ascension     Thu May 21 2020
Pentecost     Sun May 31 2020
Trinity Sunday     Sun June 07 2020
Corpus Christi     Thu June 11 2020

Christmas related Holidays for the year 2020

First Sunday of Advent     Sunday November 29 2020
Second Sunday of Advent     Sunday December 06 2020
Third Sunday of Advent     Sunday December 13 2020
Forth Sunday of Advent     Sunday December 20 2020
Christmas Eve     Thursday December 24 2020
Epiphany     Wednesday January 06 2021

Miami Catholic Calendars  Arrow Back Previous  |  Next Arrow Next  Our Calendar [Week View]

Site built with Simple Responsive Template adapted by
^ Back to Top