MiamiCatholic Calendars

Easter related Holidays for the year 2022

The date of Easter Day was defined by the Council of Nicaea in AD325 as the Sunday after the first full moon which falls on or after the Spring Equinox. The Equinox is assumed to always fall on 21st March, so the calculation reduces to determining the date of the full moon and the date of the following Sunday. The algorithm used here was introduced around the year 532 by Dionysius Exiguus. Under the Julian Calendar (for years before 1753) a simple 19-year cycle is used to track the phases of the Moon. Under the Gregorian Calendar (for years after 1753 - devised by Clavius and Lilius, and introduced by Pope Gregory XIII in October 1582, and into Britain and its then colonies in September 1752) two correction factors are added to make the cycle more accurate.

Easter Sunday     Sun April 17 2022
Septuagesima     Sun February 13 2022
Sexagesima     Sun February 20 2022
Quinquagesima     Sun February 27 2022
Shrove Tuesday (Mardi Gras)     Tue March 01 2022
Ash Wednesday     Wed March 02 2022
Palm Sunday     Sun April 10 2022
Good Friday     Fri April 15 2022
Rogation Sunday     Sun May 22 2022
Ascension     Thu May 26 2022
Pentecost     Sun June 05 2022
Trinity Sunday     Sun June 12 2022
Corpus Christi     Thu June 16 2022

Christmas related Holidays for the year 2022

First Sunday of Advent     Sunday November 27 2022
Second Sunday of Advent     Sunday December 04 2022
Third Sunday of Advent     Sunday December 11 2022
Forth Sunday of Advent     Sunday December 18 2022
Christmas Eve     Saturday December 24 2022
Epiphany     Friday January 06 2023

Miami Catholic Calendars  Arrow Back Previous  |  Next Arrow Next  Our Calendar [Week View]

Site built with Simple Responsive Template adapted by
^ Back to Top