Our Roman Catholic Church

The Catholic Church, also known as the Roman Catholic Church is ministered by the Pope with a College of Cardinals, to a flock of more than a billion Roman Catholics from the Vatican City, a state within the city of Rome.
The Lateran Treaty between Italy and the Holy See created an independent Vatican City in 1929. The Holy See maintains diplomatic relations with more than 150 countries; issues passports, coins, and stamps; has a radio station and a publishing house. Ceremonial and limited security duties are performed by the Pontifical Swiss Guard.
John Paul II, the first non-Italian Pope in 455 years, was elected in 1978. The Holy Father Pope Benedict XVI was elected head of the Roman Catholic Church and Vatican City in 2005 after Pope John Paul II's death.
On 11 February 2013, Benedict announced his resignation and is succeeded by Pope Francis on 13 March 2013.

The Country known as the Vatican City - The Holy See is located in Italy, Europe (See map below)

Official Vatican web site Vatican: The Holy See

Ecclesiastical province

An ecclesiastical province is a large jurisdiction of religious government, so named by analogy with the secular Roman province. In those hierarchical Christian churches that have dioceses, a province is a collection of those dioceses.
In the early church and in some modern churches, a province's cathedral (sometimes called a "seat") and the cathedral's city is called a metropolis and the province's bishop is called, in turn, a metropolitan bishop or a metropolitan.
In the Catholic Church, a province consists of a metropolitan archdiocese and one or more of other particular churches, usually dioceses. The archbishop of the metropolitan see is the Metropolitan of the province. The delimitation of church provinces in the Latin Church is reserved to the Holy See.
However, there have always been individual dioceses which do not belong to any province, but are directly subject to the Holy See.
In the Eastern Catholic Churches, the term metropolitan is used in a similar way to the Eastern Orthodox churches.
Diocese of Orlando Diocese of  Palm Beach Archdiocese of Miami Diocese of  Venice Diocese of  St. Petersburg Diocese of  St. Augustine Diocese of  Pensacola-Tallahassee

The Archdiocese of Miami

The Ecclesiastical Province of Miami is covering the state of Florida.
Its metropolitan bishop is the Archbishop of Miami, head of the Archdiocese of Miami. [Diocese est. 1958, Archdiocese 1968].
The province additionally includes the suffragan Diocese of Orlando [est. 1968]
Diocese of Palm Beach [est. 1984]
Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee [est. 1975]
Diocese of St. Augustine [est. 1870]
Diocese of St. Petersburg [est. 1968]
Diocese of Venice. [est. 1984]

Pope Paul VI made Miami a metropolitan see in 1968.
There were 218 Catholic schools in Florida in 2008. Elementary schools are accredited by the Florida Catholic Conference. Catholic high schools are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. In 2009, there were about 87,000 Catholic school students in Florida.
There were 35 secondary schools in Florida in 2009. They graduated 5,500 students.
There were 49,000 Knights of Columbus in Florida in 2009.

Calendar  Arrow Back Previous  |  Next Arrow Next  Florida the Sunshine State

Site built with Simple Responsive Template adapted by
^ Back to Top